Organization and Board

New Brook Farm was created by local citizens, inspired by the original Brook Farm community and by its natural beauty. We are backyard gardeners, local park advocates, urban agriculture supporters, history buffs, nature enthusiasts, and neighbors who have united around a new vision for its future. Our all-volunteer board brings professional and avocational talents and interests that include urban planning, architecture, landscaping, farming and gardening, education, community development, and more.

New Brook Farm, Inc. became a Massachusetts nonprofit corporation in 2011 and is governed by a board of directors. The organization received its 501(c)(3) nonprofit status from the IRS in 2015.


Ray Porfilio, AIA, LEED AP, President – Principal, Epstein Joslin Architects

David G Austin, LSP, LEP, PG, Vice President – Environmental consultant, AECOM

David Blumenthal, Esq., Treasurer – Attorney

Karin Tuttle, Clerk – Psychologist (retired), Horace Mann School for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Boston Public Schools

Wilfred Holton – Associate Professor Emeritus of Sociology (retired), Northeastern University

Kathleen McCabe – Principal, McCabe Enterprises Planning Consultants

Jessica Mink – Astronomer and software developer, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

William D. Tuttle, III, AICP – Planner, Real Estate and Asset Development, Massport

Photo by Joy Martin